Success Stories

Steve Garagiola, Michigan Dog Training

Steve Garagiola

Channel 4 News:  On May 19, 2017 News Reporter and Anchor Steve Garagiola aired an earlier interview with Michael Burkey, CEO and Dog Behaviorist at Michigan Dog Training for their news story entitled, “Big dog behaving badly gets attitude adjustment thanks to good training.”  The interview highlighted one of MDT’s client’s dog, Duke, a South African Mastiff who had been aggressive toward the client’s son, other people and other dogs. Duke is a different dog and his owners say his behavior has improved dramatically. Click here to hear Duke’s story as told by his owner Mike Runyan.

 

Michael Burkey and MDT is Veterinarian Preferred! Many of the area veterinarians and their staff trust Michael and the MDT staff with the training of their own personal dogs as well as those of their clients.

Dr. Cheryl Good, DVM

Dr. Good, DVM

Dr. Cheryl Good, DVM, owner of Dearborn Family Pet Care;  “Michael Burkey is an exceptional dog behaviorist. He has a positive reinforcement training style, and has helped quite a few of my clients. One client in particular was having trouble with a dog they adopted from me as a pup, and she grew to have some abnormal aggression issues. Michael was kind enough to go to their home and evaluate the pup for me, and gave all of us very helpful information and advice. It turned out that the pup was getting mixed signals from the owners who did not live together, so the pup was going from home to home. We ended up taking the pup back and placed her in another home, much calmer environment with one owner.  She has grown into a wonderful, loving, calm dog with no aggression problems whatsoever.  Michael really helped us with this pup, and prevented a possible euthanasia, as 3 other behaviorists had recommended this pup be put down.”

 

Dr. Cheryl Good, Plymouth Veterinary Hospital, Michigan Dog Training, Plymouth, Michigan

Pinky

Dr. Cheryl Good, Plymouth Veterinary Hospital, Michigan Dog Training

Rambo

Dr. Vyvian Gorbea DVM, owner of Plymouth Veterinary Hospital and her husband trained their dogs Pinky and Rambo at MDT via group classes.

 

 

 

 

Dr. McClure, Strong Veterinary Hospital

Zeke

Dr. McClure, DVM, owner of  Strong Veterinary Hospital, Livonia, Michigan and his wife had Michael Burkey train their dog Zeke via a board and train program.

 

 

 

 

________________________________

 

Michigan Dog Training, board and train, Welsh Terrier, Plymouth, Michigan

Skylar

On February 10, 2018 Skylar, a loveable Welsh Terrier completed a four weeks board and train program today at Michigan Dog Training in Plymouth, Michigan with flying colors. Skylar came to MDT to learn to leave things alone, come when called, and learn to be overall better behaved. Skylar learned to “leave it”, come, sit, down, heel on a loose leash without pulling and go to place on cue. Skylar will now be eligible to come to Perfect Practice group classes to further proof commands amongst distractions of other dogs and people. Congrats Carla, Sophia and Alexander on your new behaved dog!

 

 

 

Michigan Dog Training, fearful dog

Larry

On February 4, 2018, Jeanne and Andrew Jones completed four private training sessions with Michael. They did a fantastic job training their dog Larry whom exhibited fear issues being around other dogs when on a leash due to having been attacked by a dog on two occassions when he was younger. He also pulled hard while on walks and needed to learn to come more reliably because they like to take off leash hikes up north. Larry learned to heel nicely at their side, come when called, sit/down, go to place (which for Larry is very helpful to help curb his energy when he knows they are getting ready to go for a walk) and be calmer around other dogs including high energy dogs playing tug. Fantastic job to all three of you! We look forward to seeing you continue to proof Larry’s new skills in our Perfect Practice group classes.

 

Michigan Dog Training, Private dog training, Michael Burkey

Punkin

On February 3, 2018, Linda and Brian Morphew completed 4 private training sessions with Michael Burkey and their dog Punkin (pictured on the right). Toby came along for the ride today to add distractions for Punkin. They’ve done an excellent job training Punkin and look forward to them joining our Perfect Practice group class for ongoing socialization and training. It’s been a pleasure working with them again (Toby was a former client years ago).

 

 

 

On January 30, 2018 five dogs and their owners passed the American Kennel Club Canine Good Citizen (CGC) evaluation:  Scott Opoliger and Dr. Vyvian Gorbea and Rambo a Pit Bull mix of Plymouth, Victoria Johnson and Magic an Australian Shepherd of Windsor, Canada; Steve Turner and Major a Belgian Malinois of Redford; Akshay Vasudevan and Buddy Reddy, a Chocolate Lab of Canton; and Arthur Powell and Rylee, a Weimerainer of Northville, Michigan.  Congrats to all!

 

 

Puppy STAR, Michigan Dog Training, Plymouth, Michigan On January 30, 2018 five puppies and their owners passed the American Kennel Club Puppy STAR evaluation:  Kimberly Shank and Kodi a Golden Retriever, Lisa Rozum and Kona Law-Rozum a Rhodesian Ridgeback, Kenneth Krajewski and Zeke Krajewski, Hilary Ciesielski and Otto a German Shepherd, and John Braunreiter and Zelda Braunreiter. Congrats to all!

 

 

Michigan Dog Training, fearful aggressive dog, dog aggression, Plymouth, Michigan

Lilah

On January 20, 2018 Lilah and Cole Clothier completed 4 private training sessions with Michael Burkey to increase Lilah’s confidence around other dogs and strangers and increase her response to obedience commands. She and Cole did awesome in their training! Now they will attend our Perfect Practice group classes as part of their program to continue working around other dogs and people.  Congrats Lilah and Cole!

 

 

 

Michigan Dog Training, Dog Day Training, Plymouth, Michigan, dog training, puppy training

Major Tom

On January 19, 2018 Major Tom and Pam and John Zeller completed our Day Training program with exceptional results. Even though he’s just a young pup, he can walk on a lose leash, come when called, sit and lay down amongst duration, distractions and with distance, sit and wait at doorways, go to place, greet people appropriately without jumping and more. Great job Major Tom and the Zeller family!

 

 

 

Michigan Dog Training, Plymouth, Michigan, German Shepherd, Dog Training, Dog Day Training

Otto

On January 18, 2018 Otto completed our six week Day Training program with awesome results. He learned to be confident and social with people, learned new obedience skills and to be calmer around other dogs. Great job Otto and the Ciesielski family! We look forward to seeing you come back for our Perfect Practice group classes for further support and practice.

 

 

 

 

Victoria Johnson, Dog Trainer, Michigan Dog Trainer Academy

Victoria Johnson, DT

Victoria Johnson from Canada, Graduates from Michigan Dog Trainer Academy:  On January 17, 2018 Victoria Johnson successfully completed MDT’s comprehensive Dog Trainer (DT) program encompassing learning theory and hands on training of pet dogs. She passed written and practical exams with very high scores. She now is ready to start training clients and their dogs for her employer at a Dog DayCare facility in Canada. Congratulations Victoria!

 

 

 

 

Therapy Dog in training, Michigan Dog Training, Plymouth, Michigan, Ann Arbor

Odin CGC

On January 17, 2018 Deborah Buzzy and her dog Odin completed three private dog training lessons with Michael Burkey to help them prepare for Odin’s upcoming Therapy Dog Evaluation. As a team, they have made awesome progress and should have no difficulty passing the evaluation. They previously completed training classes at MDT and earned their Canine Good Citizen title. Buzzy and Odin plan to do Therapy Dog visits at the Veteran’s Administration to give back to the soldiers who have given so much.

 

 

 

Pit, Pit Bull, dog aggression, Michigan Dog Training, dog training

Banana

On January 13, 2018 Tim VanDeusen and Melissa Osman and their dogs Banana and Flip completed 8 private lessons with Michael Burkey. The dogs learned advanced obedience skills including being obedient and calmer around other dogs as well as with each other. Banana and Flip are now under control in the household and not competing with each other for food. This makes for a much more relaxed and enjoyable family life. Banana even enjoyed learning to play with Michael’s dog Hunter.   They will continue their training by attending MDT’s Perfect Practice group class to continue their dogs’ socialization and obedience skills. Great job Tim and Melissa!

On January 14, 2018, Melissa left us a 5 Star Review on our Facebook page:  “Worth every penny-Mike-Starbuck and Hunter helped us so much -and with out them we would have failed our dog and she would be another statistic-Mike helped us learn what our dogs needed and we couldn’t be happier -thank you!!!”  Thanks Melissa and Tim it’s been a honor and pleasure working with you and your dogs.

 

Michigan Dog Training, Greater Swiss Mountain Dog

Roscoe and Dakota

On January 13, 2018 Lisa and Fred Gratis and their dogs Roscoe and Dakota completed 8 private lessons with Michael Burkey. The dogs learned excellent obedience skills including heeling with their owners amongst distractions of other dogs and Lisa and Fred learned how to teach and manage their dogs’ behavior as well.  They will now attend MDT’s Perfect Practice group class to proof their new skills amongst other dogs and people.   Great job Lisa and Fred!

 

 

 

Michigan Dog Training, Dog Day Training, dog training, Plymouth, Michigan

Bentley

On January 3, 2018 Bentley and the Bolton family completed our Day Training program with fantastic results. He’s a high energy happy pup. Some of the things he learned was to walk on a loose leash, to sit and lay down, to go to place, to come when called and more. Thanks Bolton family! Bentley is an awesome dog! And, we’re so happy that you’re coming to the follow up Perfect Practice group classes so you can continue his learning amongst distractions.

 

 

 

Michigan Dog Training, April Russell, Dog Trainer

April Russell DT

On January 3, 2018 April Russell was promoted to the position of Dog Trainer after having completed Michigan Dog Training’s “Train the Trainer” program and scored very high on written  and practical tests. Congratulations April!

 

 

 

 

On January 2, 2018 Imali Kent left a 5 Star Review on our Facebook page:  “MDT was a godsend for our GSD, Clark!  We have tried other places but this is absolutely the best!! They were so helpful in working with his anxiety issues.  Thank you!”

 

Canine Good Citizen, CGC, Michael Burkey, Michigan Dog Training, Train your own Service Dog, Service dog training

Judith, CGC

On December 28, 2017 Judith, a Siberian Husky and her mom Rebecca Konishi of Howell, Michigan earned their Canine Good Citizen title at Michigan Dog Training.  Judith and Rebecca are participating in a 24 lesson Train Your Own Service Dog with Michael Burkey and Michelle Cogle. Congratulations Judith and Rebecca!

 

 

 

 

Black German Shepherd, Michigan Dog Training, in home dog training lessons

Lulu

On December 27, 2017 Lulu a 8 month old Black German Shepherd and her family completed four in home training sessions with Michael Burkey. Lulu lives on a multi acre estate and now comes when called, heels on a loose leash, sits and downs when cued and goes to “place” despite duration of staying there, amongst distractions and with distance from the front door and handler.  Great job everyone!

 

 

 

Golden Retriever, Michigan Dog Training, Board and train, Plymouth, Michigan, dog obedience

Barley

On December 23, 2017, Barley a Golden Retriever completed Michigan Dog Training’s three week board and train with flying colors.

 

 

 

 

Canine Good Citizen, Michigan Dog Training, CGC

Bunny, CGC

On December 16, 2017, Bunny a Hound / Pointer mix and her mom Ina Birko earned their Canine Good Citizen title at Michigan Dog Training as part of their Train Your Own Service Dog program with Michael Burkey and Michelle Cogle.

 

 

 

 

Michigan Dog Training, Private dog training lessons, professional dog trainer, Plymouth, Michigan

Cherdron Family

On December 15, 2017 Melanie and Michael Cherdron completed 8 private dog training lessons with Michael Burkey.  In the beginning, McLovin (pictured on right) exhibited concerning fear issues toward strangers. McLovin  learned advanced obedience skills and that people aren’t so scary after all.  He now could be walked through downtown Plymouth without a problem and learned that good things happen when he meets strangers.  Nice job Melanie and Michael!

 

 

 

On November 30, 2017 Shannon Denton left a 5 Star Review on our Facebook page: “We did the 4 week E Collar training with Michelle. I have a one year old VERT energetic lab and in those 4 weeks I got the resources I need to make her a great dog. We saw improvements and learned so much! And we ended it with a CGC title (title earned without the E Collar).  Thank you Michelle for being so helpful!  Luna thanks you too!”

 

On November 13, 2017 Rick Ryntz left a 5 Star Review on our Facebook page:  “Staff was wonderful and did wonders with our dog.  Highly recommend the program and the training your dog gets from Michigan Dog Training!!”

 

Michael Burkey, Michigan Dog Training, IPO, APR 1 title

Kaboom APR 1

On October 29, 2017 KABOOM Du Loups Du Soleil, a Belgian Malinois, trained and handled by Michael Burkey earned his IPO APR 1 title at Capital Area Schutzhund Club.  This title measures a dog’s obedience and protection work.

 

 

Michigan Dog Training, Belgian Malinois, IPO, BH title, BH, Michael Burkey

Simba BH

On October 29, 2017 SIMBA Du Michigan Dog Training, a Belgian Malinois, trained and handled by Michael Burkey earned his IPO BH title at Capital Area Schutzhund Club. This title measures a dog’s obedience and socialization in order to compete further in IPO.

 

 

 

 

On October 12, 2017 Leah Larson left a 5 Star Review on our Facebook page:  “We had such a great experience with Michael! Our boxers Knox & Quinn loved him and we left our private training sessions feeling confident in our dogs and their behavior! Thanks to Michael and his friendly staff!”

 

On October 10, 2017 Rebecca Runco left a 5 Star Review on our Facebook page.

 

Michael Burkey, NePoPo, dog training, practical course, NePoPo Gold

Michael Burkey

On March 6, 2017 Michael Burkey graduated from the Bart and Michael Bellon NePoPo Gold School (practical course) of Dog Training with a Certification in E-Collar Training. Bart and Michael are from Belgium and are internationally known founders of the NePoPo system.

 

 

 

 

Michael Burkey, Michigan Dog Training, NePoPo

Michael Burkey

 

On October 26, 2016 Michael Burkey graduated from the Bart and Michael Bellon NePoPo School of Dog Training, Silver Program (theoretical). Bart and Michael are from Belgium and are internationally known founders of the NePoPo system.

 

 

 

On September 16, 2017 Timothy A. left this five star review on Yelp:  “Michael is an expert dog trainer. He is calm and very patient. We learned tons of good information during our four individual sessions. We learned about different techniques for training. He help us with our specific needs. We learned how to deal with cars and how to help our seven year old Chocolate Lab heel while walking and interact with dogs. We can’t say enough positive things about Michael. We highly recommend him for training!”

 

Michael Burkey, Michigan Dog Training, IPO, BH, Belgian Malinois

Kaboom IPO BH

On November 1, 2015 KABOOM Du Loups Du Soleil, a Belgian Malinois, trained and handled by Michael Burkey earned his IPO BH title at Capital Area Schutzhund Club. This title measures a dog’s obedience and socialization in order to compete further in IPO.

 

 

 

 

Steve Wood and Gary Lewis of Westland:  “We adopted Gracie and Lady (high energy Black Labrador Retrievers) and they needed obedience training. Both of our dogs have made great progress, with no stress for either dog or owner!”

 

 

 

Jen, Randy and Phoenix, “Michael’s positive training methods are unbelievable! Anyone can take the lessons learned in his class and apply them to everday situations as well as training a wonderful and obedient family dog. He will prove that you will get better results with shaping behavior rather than punishment. Michael genuinely cares about you and your dog. Thanks for all you have taught us!!”

 

 

Elizabeth Augustyn, Greyhound of Michigan Rescue member:  “I recommend Michael’s services for any retired racer. If you haven’t been to a training class recently, I encourage you to enroll your dog or foster in a class. We are never too old to learn. I have repeated classes and taken my seniors through classes. We continue to learn new tricks every day!”

 

 

 

 

 

 

Kole tracking, Michigan Dog Training

Kole tracking

Judy Huston:  “Kole started tracking lessons with Michael and demonstrated high drive and focused interest. He had six  tracking lessons in 2006 and will be resuming work with a focus on more turns and indicating articles.”

 

 

 

 

Patty Ebbitt: “Michael, thanks so much! I have been bragging to friends, family and coworkers about what a terrific training program you’re offering. This is SO helpful. Thanks for all your feedback – and so FAST! Greatly appreciate your efforts!”

 

 

 

Sister Pat, Catholic Nun:  “Michael, I just want to thank you again for all of your help with Casey. He is wonderful on a walk now and I feel very confident – thanks to you. I am also learning a tremendous amount during the training with Maggie. You are excellent!”

 

 

Michigan Dog Training, dog training, dog obedienceAmeera Finklestein of Detroit:  “From Puppy  to Advanced classes, Mike is an exceptional teacher. Training is very interactive. Mike has had many graduate return for more advanced training. I accomplished a lot with his help.”

 

 

 

 

Susan Webb and her Standard Poodles, Melody and Mo of Novi:  “I enjoy Michael’s classes because they are friendly and flexible. He can offer several ways when needed to solve your training problems”

Toni Hetherington, President of Rottweiler Rescue of Southeastern Michigan:  “Rottweiler Rescue has been referring Rottweiler owners and new adopting parents to Michael Burkey since 1999. We feel he has a complete understanding of dog behavior and ALWAYS trains with positive reinforcement. Because of the breed of dog that we rescue, we were very selective of the trainer we wanted to work with because these dogs have been roughly handled for too long. Michael is very kind and loving toward our Rotties.”

Teresa McIntrye, Dalmatian Breeder (Firelite Dalmatians since 1969), Obedience Competitor and Michael’s first Obedience Trainer: “Mike’s dogs are very well cared for and extremely well trained. He is very kind and patient with all his students and the dogs. To sum it up, Mike is a very capable dog trainer and instructor.”

Beth Sanders:  “Kobe is a much more obedient dog than before and Michael provide me with the necessary knowledge to train him. Rescue dogs provide many challenges as they come with baggage but he has become a less needy dog and has a new found confidence. I have taken numerous dog obedience classes in the past but none of them compare to your techniques. I liked the whole clicker/treat/praise way of training. Thank you for all your help and thank you also for helping to show Kobe that the world is not a bad place.”

Mary K. of Detroit:  “Mike has helped my dog Michi (Akita) who was quite shy and had some behavioral problems. Her confidence level and obedience skills have improved tremendously. Best of all, Michi loves going to class! Mike is an excellent trainer who has earned and gains the trust and respect of Michi and I”

 

For other success stories, please visit MDT’s Blog